Perfectionista

29 Aug

Perfectionista!

I feel like this term describes me. Sometimes it’s a good thing and other times its part of my downfall. I can be such a perfectionist that I stop myself from reaching my goals, because my journey isn’t perfect like I imagine it. I know I am probably not the only one with this problem, but it seems to be butting into my life more recently. So here is what made me come to this realization…

I look at myself in the mirror on Saturday night when I was out with a few friends (after a long day mind you) and just saw myself as this really overweight person that surely couldn’t be me – in fact I made myself look twice. I don’t think I have ever looked at myself and thought this before, but it was definitely a wake up call! UGH! How did I let this happen to my body?!? The one that I had taken care of throughout high school by playing sports constantly… Well I can tell you how.. LIFE! I Not only has my fabulous metabolism slowed down, but I also haven’t quite gotten rid of some awful college habits I picked up. Not to mention after college I went straight into Grad School where I had to work part time, go to school full time, and study for the CPA full time. I know whew! (makes me tired just writing it). All of those things in addition to the fact that now my full time job is anything but a 40 hour a week! So after 8 months of using those excuses I am going to make some changes. Even if they are small changes, and even if they changes don’t get made perfectly, I know I can do this. I know I can take better care of myself and lead a healthier life. Don’t get me wrong I want to continue to enjoy weekends with friends, birthday parties, and nights out, but I want my life to be balanced.

So even though I know change doesn’t happen overnight, I also know change doesn’t’ t happen without a plan. So here it is – my plan to change my life one day at a time out for the whole blog world to see (even if my mom is my only reader) I want to be able to look back at this post and say – this was my tipping point. The realization that if I am not healthy and loving myself how can I expect anyone to love me back. I want to engage in all sorts of activities, sports, and events without stressing to the point of tears about what I am going to wear, if people are going to think I’m fat, or if people are going to just laugh when they see what I have become.  So enough of feeling like that, enough of not loving myself!!! I am worth it!

See my workout page for my workout logs, as well as recipes page for my meal plans.

One Response to “Perfectionista”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. September here we go and my theme song « - September 5, 2011

    […] promises to myself more, but at the same time I am going to have to realize that I can’t be perfect, and this journey isn’t going to be either. So through reading all my blogs I have gotten a […]

Leave a Reply

